IRTA 2020


Best Homestay

A homestay rooted in the local way of life, where the owners live on the property and preferably, share a kitchen with their guests.*

Best Hotel

A hotel or resort that offers earth-friendly spaces, services and experiences; employs and empowers locals; and inspires others in the economic, social or environmental spheres.*

Best Tour Operator

Outfits that specialise in low-impact activities and experiences, connected to adventure, wildlife or culture, while inspiring other local operators to adopt better practices.*

Best Communicator

Any individual — feature writer, author, blogger, vlogger, podcaster — who has been encouraging travellers to be mindful of their impact

Best Wildlife Conservation Project

Any public or private organisation that has been working consistently on a wildlife and/or habitat conservation project in India, on fragile landscapes and/or endangered species.*

Best Social Impact Project

Any public or private organisation that has a proven record of social impact brought about by tourism in a rural or urban space.*

RT Pathfinder
For Outstanding Contribution to Indian Tourism

A person who has been working to change the narrative of inclusive tourism in India. * (By invitation only)

*They should also be guided by the spirit of responsibility, not just towards the environment but also towards the local community. The outfit/hotel/homestay should have been in operation for at least three years.

Last date of application: September 30, 2019

Why Apply?

All the gold winners will be directly nominated for the WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards, London. Plus, winning a Gold or Silver at IRTA 2020 will make you stand apart from competition and show to your peers, media and customers that you are a leader in your category. Winning a prestigious award will help secure relevant media coverage. The thorough application process also gives you a chance to review your efforts and celebrate your achievements with staff and customers.

Past Winners


Overall Outstanding Achievement : — SPICE VILLAGE-CGH EARTH, THEKKADY


The Past Jury

Akhil Kapoor

Convivium Leader, Slow Food India (Delhi Chapter)

Aman Nath

Founder Neemrana Hotels

Amanpreet Bajaj

Country Manager, India Airbnb

Amit Dixit

Editor, Outlook Traveller

Ananda Banerjee


Illustrator & Award-winning Wildlife Conservation Journalist

Belinda Wright

Executive Director,

Wildlife Protection Society of India (WPSI), & Proprietor, Kipling Camp

CB Ramkumar

Board Member,

Global Sustainable Tourism Council, & Founder, Our Native Village

Dr. Harold Goodwin


International Centre for RT, & Professor Emeritus, Manchester Metropolitan University

Emma Horne


Emma Horne Travel

Jaya Jaitly

Founder & President,

Dastkari Haat Samiti

KT Ravindran

Former Dean, School of Planning and Architecture and former VC, Environmental Impact Assessment Committee, GoI

Malika Virdi

Mountaineer & Sarpanch of Sarmoli–Jainti Van Panchayat

Maninder Kohli


Juniper Outdoor Pursuits Centre

Milan Moudgil

Mountaineer & Photographer

Prerna Bindra

Wildlife Conservationist & Author

Ratish Nanda


Aga Khan Trust for Culture, India

Sheema Mookherjee

Former Pubisher,

Lonely Planet (India), & Proprietor,Salban – The Kanha Homestay

Sohail Hashmi


Academic & Film–maker

Steve Borgia

Honorary President,

Eco–tourism Society of India

Suman Billa

Joint Secretary,

Ministry of Tourism

Dr. Venu Vasudevan

Former Principal Secretary,

Kerala Tourism