The Indian Responsible Tourism Awards (IRTA) have recognised and applauded champions of ethical travel across the country since 2016. The awards recognise and applaud champions of ethical travel across the country. The goal is to inspire and motivate the local fraternity, highlight replicable RT models, and spread the word through online and print platforms, including those owned by the Outlook Group.

IRTA is a regional partner of the reputed World Travel Market (WTM)’s Responsible Tourism Awards held in London. Known for their formidable line-up of judges, and a thorough and transparent judging process, the awards have brought global recognition to nearly 400 holiday providers so far. The awards have chapters in Ireland, Africa, and India.

The judging process for IRTA is both intensive and rigorous, spearheaded by a jury of industry experts from India, who are familiar with the country’s unique set of challenges, and international experts, who bring to the table their knowledge of global best practices. Winners of the award automatically qualify to compete on an international platform at WTM, London.

The Past Jury

Akhil Kapoor

Convivium Leader, Slow Food India (Delhi Chapter)

Aman Nath

Founder Neemrana Hotels

Amanpreet Bajaj

Country Manager, India Airbnb

Amit Dixit

Editor, Outlook Traveller

Ananda Banerjee


Illustrator & Award-winning Wildlife Conservation Journalist

Belinda Wright

Executive Director,

Wildlife Protection Society of India (WPSI), & Proprietor, Kipling Camp

CB Ramkumar

Board Member,

Global Sustainable Tourism Council, & Founder, Our Native Village

Dr. Harold Goodwin


International Centre for RT, & Professor Emeritus, Manchester Metropolitan University

Emma Horne


Emma Horne Travel

Jaya Jaitly

Founder & President,

Dastkari Haat Samiti

KT Ravindran

Former Dean, School of Planning and Architecture and former VC, Environmental Impact Assessment Committee, GoI

Malika Virdi

Mountaineer & Sarpanch of Sarmoli–Jainti Van Panchayat

Maninder Kohli


Juniper Outdoor Pursuits Centre

Milan Moudgil

Mountaineer & Photographer

Prerna Bindra

Wildlife Conservationist & Author

Ratish Nanda


Aga Khan Trust for Culture, India

Sheema Mookherjee

Former Pubisher,

Lonely Planet (India), & Proprietor,Salban – The Kanha Homestay

Sohail Hashmi


Academic & Film–maker

Steve Borgia

Honorary President,

Eco–tourism Society of India

Suman Billa

Joint Secretary,

Ministry of Tourism

Dr. Venu Vasudevan

Former Principal Secretary,

Kerala Tourism

Our Partners