IRTA is India’s first and only responsible tourism awards. Starting this year, it hopes to recognise and applaud champions of ethical travel across the country. The idea is to inspire and motivate the local fraternity, highlight replicable RT models, and spread the good word through online and print platforms, including those owned by the Outlook Group.

IRTA is a regional partner of the reputed World Responsible Tourism Awards (WRTA) held at the World Travel Market (WTM) in London every year. Founded in 2004 by Responsible Travel, The WRTA has established itself as the most widely respected global touchstone of responsible tourism. Known for its formidable line-up of judges, and a thorough and transparent judging process, the WRTA has brought worldwide recognition to over 375 holiday providers so far. It has chapters in Ireland, Africa, and now, India.

In keeping with the WRTA standards, the judging process for IRTA is both intensive and rigorous, spearheaded by a jury of industry experts, including international responsible tourism pundit Professor Harold Goodwin. Here are the jury members for IRTA 2016.


We work with the very best. We are proud of our partners, who work with us to deliver the best in responsible travel